24 posts Page 1 of 3
I've been using AVONEX Beta-Interferon for over 3 months and have found that its working :-). I am a 45 yr old male living in Scotland and was diagnosed as having MS in March 2008. Before taking the drug I had a numbness in my fingertips of both my hands.Since taking the drug the numbness has ceased on all my fingers with the exception of my index finger and thumb of my right hand,my left hand is a lot better,no numbness. The side effects I've suffered since using the drug has varied from a flu feeling to sore thighs and on one occassion(spelling?)total wipe out where I could only get around using a walking stick. Fortunately that was a one-off. Is anyone else using Beta-Interferon and if so what have they noticed? Many thanks for reading this. Davie
Hi Davie Ive been using Avonex for 18 months now...like you i noticed my symptoms dissapearing very quickly. The flu like symptoms post injection have nver improved, platets and neutrophils dropped very low last year and I thought I was going to have to change but this seems to have sorted itself out. I also had a couple of weeks of palpatations after injections but this went as quick too. Small price to pay for staying well. However I was very lucky to have moved from the UK to New Zealand before diagnosis..lucky because I was able to attend Georges course in the Yarra Valley...for me this has kept me well, I have folllowed the diet and it has made a huge difference! Stay well and I hope the Avonex keeps working for you Carrie