Hello,

My name is Patrick.

I am a 25 year-old data scientist based in Dubai and I have MS and I am gay.

I was diagnosed with MS when I was 19 andI have been on Gilenya since this diagnosis. So far, I have found considerable relief with this drug.

However, I come from a very conservative Irish family. My father was always very hard on me when growing up as I was flamboyant. I was not the "normal" child he wanted apparently but a freak. I also never liked how he used to release his temper onto my mother and the bigoted mindset he exerted. Hence, I always made it my business not to have a relationship with him going up.

In my first year of university, mainly due to my incredibly sheltered upbringing and being still closeted, I was bullied mercilessly by my 7 housemates. It culminated with me nearly assaulted.

I subsequently had to take the next year out for an anxiety condition.

I am thankful this occurred for 2 reasons - I gained the courage came out as gay and I was diagnosed with MS (my GP, at a regular appointment, noticed one eye blinked slower than the other and sent me to a neurologist and I was diagnosed).

I then returned to university, and got my degree. Upon graduating, I joined a consultancy firm which I stayed for 16 months with. Even though I spent a year in America with them, it was a very homophobic environment and i even got slapped by a colleague outside a work event. I never went to HR out of fear nor did I tell my family.

I now work in Dubai with a very LGBT-inclusive firm (yes, I understand the irony - LGBT in Dubai, however, I am mainly working with Americans)

Now, up until June this hear, I was dependent on my father to send me my medication.