13 posts Page 1 of 2
I've been really trying to work on mindfulness in the last couple of weeks. I think it's really important for someone with MS to focus on the here and now and not get too caught up in what the future will hold. What's important is here and now. In the past I have been guilty at looking backwards in reverie at how I used to climb mountains and also at looking forwards and seeing all kinds of dark things that may not ever happen. I see mindfulness as a tool to help free me from these harmful tendencies.

However, there are two ways of thinking that are not mindful but I see them as completely harmless, what do you think? The first is nostalgia, you know, having a five-minute daydream about your first kiss or similar. The second is anticipation of an exciting event e.g. looking forward to your partner coming home from a long business trip, that kind of thing.

If mindfulness doesn't allow me these thoughts, then I'm not sure I want it.

Gareth
Gareth,

I am no expert in midfullness, but I think you're not getting it. This is what I understand about mindfulness.