11 posts Page 1 of 2
Hi Everyone,
I'm hoping you can help me here. I have a friend who undoubtedly has leaky gut. Her symptoms are: autoimmune disease (not MS), severe migraines, fatigue, failure to absorb both iron and vitamin B, (she has monthly B injections and is having an iron infusion this week.) IBS and so the list goes on, If you Google the symptoms of leaky gut, she has pretty much every one of them. She has had IBS for almost 30 years!
Both my friend and I have read a fair bit of stuff but are finding the area to be vast and there are many contradictions. Some clarity would help. Given the severity of her symptoms, combined with the fact that she is underweight, plus I'm new to the whole microbiome thing, I don't in any way feel qualified to help her. What I believe she needs is a really good practitioner who is based in the UK. (North West would be good.)
This is where I need help. Does anybody have any experience/suggestions etc of who could help professionally? We are worried about the number of quacks that may be lurking!
Thanks in advance folks - all help appreciated.
Cinders xx
Cinders I would by pass thinking about gut and focus on getting rid of the western diet. Lose dairy, lose meat, go whole food plant based.
Forks over Knives will have lots of positive personal stories of getting into a far better health. Might even find some pointers to a support person practioner in the UK.
I don't see any mileage in trying to repair a gut being inflicted with the common diet.
I would also get tested for gluten intolerance as I know a celiac who went mega thin before finally diagnosed celiac.
Hello Cinders,