14 posts Page 1 of 2
Hi. I am pretty new to all this so I have a question which probably seems a bit basic. Apologies. Anyway, I don't know what my vitimin D was at diagnosis but I recently had it tested and it was around 170 plus. I was told this was high and that I need just to take around 1,000 iu a week, whereas I had been taking sometimes up to 9000 a day. I stopped taking any for a couple of weeks because my level and the amount I had been taking seemed to shock the GP. I know OMS advocates much higher levels than most countries' health authorities so I want to start taking it again - I am just not sure how much. What sort of amount would it make sense to take each day given my level when tested? Thank you for reading!
Diagnosed - June 2017.
OMS - January 2018.
Hi! You didn’t give units but if you’re using only supplementation I’d think 9,000iu is very reasonable for winter. Here are my notes on D. If anyone sees any issues I’d appreciate the feedback. Be well, everyone!

Vitamin D Goals
~150 nmol/L (~60 ng/ml) blood level (2.5 conversion)
~200 nmol (80ng/ml) may be optimal.
This will require supplementation unless you live in the tropics.
Summer: At our latitude (~40 North) 10-15 minutes of sun on most of body 3 x week should do it.
This amount of sun does not increase skin cancer risk.
Have to do blood test to learn exact numbers but a good starting place is:
Winter 5000-10,000 iu daily
Summer 2000-5000 iu daily
So, if your units are nmol/ml I’d say you’re doing well.

And although I’m not in medicine I think you’ll find the evidence is stacking up that the historic recommended D levels were far too low.

Nice work!
Thanks. The figures are n/mol and as we get little sun in the UK at this time of year I use only supplements for VitD. I am just unsure if I should keep supplementing if I am already at 170+n/mol (or was a few weeks ago)?
Diagnosed - June 2017.
OMS - January 2018.