6 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi Everybody

I'm quite new to this, having been diagnosed with CIS about a month ago. Two weeks later and I had started the OMS diet and convinced my GP to have my Vit D tested.
The result was 66 nmol/L, so following George's advice, I took a megadose of 150,000 IU and started supplementing 8000 IU a day, (I weigh 77Kg)

It's been two weeks since my megadose, and I have just had the results back from my latest Blood test (brought online) and to my dissapointment, my levels have only gone up to 74.5 nmol/L.

I took my megadose four days after finishing a course of steroids, could it be possible that this affected the uptake of D3?

Does anyone have any advice regarding getting my levels up?

I'm thinking of taking another dose of 200,000 IU, then another 150,000 IU a couple of days later, and increasing my daly dose to 10,000 IU.

Any help would be appreciated as this is all very new to me.

Thanks

Brian
My advice is stick with the supplements and the diet. I took 150,000 IU weekly for four weeks and saw only a slight increase on my vitamin D level compared to my hopes. I continued with 10,000 IU per day (still doing so) and recent reading is right around 150nmol/L. So I recommend persistence and patience. Best of luck.
Interesting. I don't know much about VitaminD absorption, but it does have to do with fats. I think I read somewhere that there is uncertainty whether people have MS because of low VitaminD or they have low VitaminD because they have MS. Like many, my levels were abysmal. I'm not even sure they were high enough to prevent rickets.

Mine also took a long time to rise. I take 10,000 per day for 2 1/2 years and I have not gone over the limit, so we all absorb differently.
Alex

Diagnosis: Jan 2010, OMS April 2010.