15 posts Page 1 of 2
Hi everyone, hope you are all well.

I've been sticking to the program for 3 months now and feel I'm doing well. My main concern at the moment is Vit D.
At first I had trouble getting up from my starting level of 66 nmol/L, but with a few mega doses I got to 164.5 nmol/L and started taking 10,000 iu a day.
Seven weeks later I had another test and my levels had dropped to 106 nmol/L.

I have recently taken another mega dose and will test again on Monday, if high enough, I will take this new level as my new starting point and dose daily at 15,000iu, testing again in around seven weeks to see how things are going.
Hopefully, my levels will rise over the next seven weeks and I can drop my daily dose to stabilize these levels.

As I have found 10,000iu causes my levels to fall and I'm hoping 15,000iu will cause them to rise, somewhere in between should be the correct level for me.

Does anyone else have to dose above the highest recommended level of 10,000iu to keep their vit D stable and if so, do you have any adverse affects?

Be well

Brian
Hi Brian,

You are at the end of winter in your country, and vitamin D levels do drop over the sunless months of winter.

Regular tests and dose adjustment according to results will allow you to find your optimal Vitamin D dose. It's different for everyone.

My own experience is below. Vitamin D is a fat soluble vitamin, and I have plentiful supplies of fat, though quite a bit less than prior to starting OMS!

January 2012 - Vit D level of 70.
January 2012 : Commenced 70,000 IU per week
February 2012 : megadose 150,000 IU
April 2012 : Megadose 100,000 IU
May 2012 : level 134.
May 2012 : megadose of 150,000 IU.
August 2012 - level gone down to 105 (End of winter in Australia)
August 2012 - Took another megadose of 300,000 IU
August 2012 Increased regular supplementation to a weekly dose of 150,000 IU
November 2012 - level = 222 reduced weekly dose to 100,000 IU.