29 posts Page 1 of 3
I find that pilates and swimming are very good forms of exercise for people with MS. I noticed that with George J's diet, my balance improved considerably, making pilates easier! Do you ever read the messages on the discussion board, George? If so, please can you email me - I would love to tell you my experience of your wonderful diet!
Hi Julie I have been doing Pilates for nearly two years and I find it very beneficial to my balance and stability. I hope George "reads our messages" faye (sydney)
Excuse my ignorance but what is "Pilates" pls?
Pilates is a bit like yoga but a little bit more active - you don't get a meditation session/sleep in the middle! It basically involves gentle stretching exercises (mostly on the floor, but some standing, or holding onto a 'barre'). It concentrates on improving your 'core stability' and therefore helps with controlling your balance.
Hi after reading George's new book I felt I really needed to re-address the exercise aspect of the program. My legs tend to stop working after not a lot of walking and if there is an uneven or slight gradient either up or down it becomes a mission.
So the exercise aspect is dificult but more difficult mentally because I have felt in the past that the pathetic amount I could do is not going to be much use.

However once I got my head in the right place I decided to do whatever I could just to keep things moving. I started with barely 5 mins on the treadmill most days (hardly worth putting my sports shoes on). Today about 2 months later I was able to do 17mins. I have also been able to vary it and add a bit of hill work over the last couple of weeks. The speed setting never goes above 3.5 and I always need to hold on for my safety.

I have added a small amount of free hand weights, again pathetic from most people's standards.